#

Portrait: Cristina Lemos

Cristina Lemos is our new project manager of the Bordeaux Neurocampus Graduate Program. She replaces Justine Barbot, who left her position this summer… and who we deeply thank for all her work!

Cristina Lemos has a diverse background with research experience in various scientific fields and in different countries. Microbiologist at the start, she did her MSc by Research (2006-2008) at the University of Cranfield (UK) in collaboration with Yorkshire Water for the development of a Phytoremediation process aiming at the removal of organic pollutants in sludge.

Back to Porto (Portugal) in 2009 and while working for the Department of Research and Development at BIAL, a Portuguese pharmaceutical company studying Parkinson’s disease, she discovered her passion for neuroscience.

In 2016, Cristina obtained her PhD degree in neuroscience from the University of Coimbra (Portugal), where she specialized in the behavioral studies of rodent models. During her research, she did a short stay at the Bordeaux Neurocampus, within a collaborative project with Christophe Mulle. She immediately connected with the Neurocampus philosophy and intended to come back in the future.

After one year in Florianopolis, an island in the south of Brazil, she moved to Austria where she furthered her training as a Postdoc and project leader at the Department of Psychiatry at the Medical University of Innsbruck, working on the topics of stress and social interaction.

Cristina arrived one month ago to work with us as Project Manager of the Bordeaux Neurocampus graduate program, the Ecole Universitaire de Recherche (EUR) Bordeaux Neurocampus. Put into her own words, she has one idea in mind: “to continue the fantastic work that has been performed in the construction of the Bordeaux Neurocampus graduate program. The project is so exciting because we are working together in an international and interdisciplinary team towards a common goal: to deliver a training for excellence in a trustworthy atmosphere“. The Bordeaux Neurocampus tenet regarding both science and scientists is reflected in her own professional and personal values.

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/cristinalemos-89b9b44/

ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0003-3182-6289

 


13/10/20 // Category: Interview

#

Portrait : Cristina Lemos

Cristina Lemos
Cristina Lemos

Cristina Lemos est la nouvelle cheffe de projet du Bordeaux Neurocampus Graduate Program. Elle remplace Justine Barbot, qui a pris un nouveau chemin professionnel cet été, et que nous remercions chaleureusement pour tout le travail qu’elle a accompli durant deux années.

Cristina Lemos a une expérience variée dans la recherche, à la fois dans divers domaines scientifiques et dans différents pays. Microbiologiste à ses débuts, elle a passé un « Msc by research » (équivalent du Master Recherche), de 2006 à 2008, à l’Université de Cranfield (UK) en collaboration avec Yorkshire Water pour le développement d’un processus de phytoremédiation visant à éliminer les polluants organiques dans les boues.

De retour à Porto en 2009 et alors qu’elle travaillait pour le département de recherche et développement de BIAL – une société pharmaceutique portugaise qui étudie la maladie de Parkinson -, elle s’est découvert une passion pour les neurosciences.

En 2016, elle a obtenu son doctorat en neurosciences à l’université de Coimbra, avec comme spécialité les études comportementales de modèles de rongeurs. Au cours de ses recherches, elle a effectué un court séjour au Neurocampus de Bordeaux, dans le cadre d’un projet de collaboration avec Christophe Mulle. Elle s’est immédiatement imprégné de l’esprit de Bordeaux Neurocampus et avait l’intention d’y revenir tôt ou tard.

Après un an à Florianopolis, une île du sud du Brésil, elle s’est installée en Autriche où elle a poursuivi sa formation en tant que post-doc et chef de projet au département de psychiatrie de l’université de médecine d’Innsbruck, travaillant sur les thèmes du stress et de l’interaction sociale.

Cristina Lemos est arrivée il y a un mois en France pour travailler avec nous en tant que cheffe de projet du Bordeaux Neurocampus Graduate Program. Pour reprendre ses propres termes, elle n’a qu’une idée en tête : « poursuivre le fantastique travail qui a été réalisé dans la construction du programme. » Ce qui la motive ? « Travailler dans une équipe internationale et interdisciplinaire vers un objectif commun : offrir une formation d’excellence dans une atmosphère de confiance« , ajoute-t-elle. Voilà qui résume les principes de notre communauté… et qui reflète ses propres valeurs professionnelles et personnelles. Nous lui souhaitons la bienvenue !

Linkedin : https://www.linkedin.com/in/cristinalemos-89b9b44/
ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0003-3182-6289


13/10/20 // Catégorie(s) : Portraits et entretiens