Neuromodulation and neuroprosthetics

IMN

Voir la version en français

Our team develops new neuromodulation paradigms and neuroprosthetic systems for repairing or replacing circuit-level functions that get disrupted after neurological disorders or injury. Our research combines techniques from Neuroscience and Neuroengineering, in particular in vivo electrophysiology, signal processing, machine learning and control engineering.

Building upon previous experience of neuromodulation in the fields of epilepsy and spinal cord injury, we are now interested in expanding neuroprosthetic systems from motor to cognitive disorders. In particular, we aim at developing a large-scale brain network neuroprosthesis to restore memory after brain injury or neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease (MEMOPROSTHETICS project, funded by an ERC Starting Grant). We are testing these principles in non-human primates trained to perform a visuospatial memory task.

Our approach uses intracranial multielectrode recordings of neuronal activity at various spatial scales such as local field potentials and electrocorticographic activity, combined with spatially, temporally and spectrally patterned multisite neurostimulation. This targeted stimulation aims at restoring the communication between remote brain areas which become functionally disconnected in memory disorders as a result of injury or neurodegeneration. By combining this neuromodulation approach with cognitive training protocols, we further aim at promoting neuroplasticity mechanisms and long-term improvements in cognitive functions.


This project has received the following funding / award:
– Young group leader chair of excellence, from the Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine and the University of Bordeaux as part of the Bordeaux Neurocampus initiative (2020-2023)
– ERC Starting Grant 2021 (MEMOPROSTHETICS project)
– ATIP-Avenir young group leader award, call 2021

Team leader
Fabien Wagner
Université de Bordeaux



Team member(s)


Fabien Wagner (Team-leader)


Chercheurs, Praticiens hospitaliers...


Ingénieur(e)s, technicien(ne)s

Mathieu Taillade


Post-doctorant(s)

Ankur Gupta


Doctorant(s)

Nikolaos Vardalakis

Neuromodulation and neuroprosthetics
Neuromodulation et neuroprosthétique

IMN

See the english version

Notre équipe développe de nouveaux paradigmes de neuromodulation et des systèmes neuroprosthétiques afin de réparer ou remplacer les fonctions des circuits neuronaux affectés par des troubles neurologiques ou une lésion du système nerveux. Notre recherche combine des techniques de Neuroscience et de Neuroingénierie, en particulier l’électrophysiologie in vivo, le traitement du signal, l’apprentissage automatique et la théorie du contrôle.

En exploitant notre expérience en neuromodulation dans les domaines de l’épilepsie et des lésions de la moelle épinière, nous souhaitons maintenant étendre l’application des systèmes neuroprosthétiques des troubles moteurs aux troubles cognitifs. En particulier, nous cherchons à développer une neuroprothèse des réseaux cérébraux à grande échelle afin de restaurer la mémoire après une lésion cérébrale ou des maladies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d’Alzheimer (projet MEMOPROSTHETICS, financement ERC Starting Grant). Nous testons ces principes sur des primates non-humains entraînés à effectuer une tâche de mémoire visuospatiale.

Notre approche utilise des enregistrements intra-crâniaux multi-électrodes de l’activité neuronale à diverses échelles spatiales telles que les potentiels de champs locaux et l’activité électrocorticographique, combinés à une neurostimulation multi-sites dynamique avec des profils spatiaux, temporels et spectraux spécifiques. Cette stimulation ciblée a pour but de restaurer la communication entre des aires cérébrales éloignées, qui deviennent fonctionnellement déconnectées suite à une lésion ou une dégénérescence neuronale. En combinant cette approche avec des protocoles d’entraînement cognitif, nous visons à promouvoir des mécanismes de neuroplasticité et à améliorer les fonctions cognitives sur le long terme.


Ce projet a reçu les financements suivants :
– Chaire d’excellence de jeune chef d’équipe, financée par la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine et l’Université de Bordeaux, dans le cadre du projet Bordeaux Neurocampus (2020-2023)
– ERC Starting Grant 2021 (MEMOPROSTHETICS project)
Prix ATIP-Avenir pour jeune chef d’équipe, appel à projets 2021

Chef(s) d'équipe
Fabien Wagner
Université de Bordeaux



Membres de l'équipe


Fabien Wagner (Chef d'équipe)


Chercheurs, Praticiens hospitaliers...


Ingénieur(e)s, technicien(ne)s

Mathieu Taillade


Post-doctorant(s)

Ankur Gupta


Doctorant(s)

Nikolaos Vardalakis