Aller au contenuAller au menuAller à la recherche

Susumu Tomita"Auxiliary subunits of glutamate receptors in synaptic transmission"

Abstract :

Neurons use neurotransmitters to communicate across synapses, constructing neural circuits in the brain.
Most abundant excitatory neurotransmitter in the brain is glutamate, and ionotropic glutamate receptors (iGluRs) mediate fast excitatory synaptic transmission. iGluRs localize at synapses and function as ligand-gated ion channels. To reveal molecular machinery controlling excitatory synaptic transmission, understanding native complex of iGluR in the brain is required. Native ionotropic glutamate receptors contain several auxiliary subunits including TARPs and Netos. I will talk about recent progress in roles of auxiliary subunits of iGluR in synaptic transmission.


Selected publications

Sumioka A, Yan D, Tomita S. TARP phosphorylation regulates synaptic AMPA receptors through lipid bilayers. Neuron, 66:755-67, 2010.
Zhang W, St-Gelais F, Grabner CP, Trinidad JC, Sumioka A, Morimoto-Tomita M, Kim KS, Straub C, Burlingame AL, Howe JR, Tomita S. Novel transmembrane accessory subunit modulates kainate-type glutamate receptors. Neuron, 61:385-96, 2009.
Morimoto-Tomita M, Zhang W, Straub C, Cho CH, Kim KS, Howe JR, Tomita S. Auto-inactivation of neuronal AMPA receptors via glutamate-regulated TARP interaction. Neuron, 61:101-12, 2009.

Scientific focus :

Associate Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology; Primary faculty, Program in Cellular Neuroscience, Neurodegeneration and Repair.
Research interests : Synaptic transmission; Brain; Biochemistry; molecular biology; immunocytochemistry; gene-targeted animals; electrophysiology
Ph.D.University of Tokyo (2000)

Honors & Recognition
Klingenstein Fellowship Awards In The Neurosciences
The Esher and Joseph Klingenstein Foundation (2006)
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship Award
Alfred P. Sloan Research Foundation (2007)
NARSAD Young Investigator Award
NARSAD (2007)Postdoctoral fellowshipUCSF, Physiology (2000 - 2005)

étudiants de l'IINS